Voting in the 2020 RCVS VN Council Election is now open.

There are 13 candidates standing in this year’s VN Council elections, including two existing VN Council members eligible for re-election and 11 candidates not currently on Council. They are:

Samantha Anderson
Jessica Beckett
Kirsten Cavill
Rebecca Clark
Dorothy (Dot) Creighton
Lindsey Dodd
Emma Foreman
Racheal Marshall
Megan Oakey
Susannah Phillips
Matthew Rendle
Claire Roberts
Cathy Woodlands

Ballot papers and candidates’ details for both elections have been posted to all veterinary nurses who are eligible to vote. Voters have also been emailed unique links the secure voting websites.

All votes must be cast, either online or by post, by 5pm on Friday 24 April 2020.

All candidates were invited to produce a video in which they answered up to two questions submitted to the RCVS by members of the electorate. The videos received so far have been published on the RCVS website at and on the College's YouTube channel ( The candidate statements and biogs, and the questions submitted by members of the profession have also been published on the vnvote20 page.

Eleanor Ferguson, RCVS Registrar and Returning Officer, said: "With all that is happening currently, we are glad to say that we have been able to continue with business as usual as far as the RCVS and VN Councils elections are concerned, albeit with some minor delays on publishing the candidate videos. 

"It is very encouraging that, after a two-year absence, the VN Council elections have come back stronger with a field of 13 candidates, and we hope that this will translate into increased turnout."

Those who are eligible to vote in the RCVS VN Council election but have not received either an email or ballot paper should contact Annette Amato, Deputy Head of Veterinary Nursing, on

Whilst you're here, take a moment to see our latest job opportunities for vet nurses.